Central Schoolhouse Inn
Built in 1856, Central Schoolhouse was the first public school building in Geneseo. The school started with all ages, however as the town quickly grew it served as the south elementary building until 1890. Prominent attorney Harry Brown hired Frank Lloyd Wright protege Cecil E. Bryan to save the building (after Mrs. Brown fired Frank Lloyd Wright over a disagreement about closet space) and renovate the 4-room schoolhouse into a beautiful 6-bedroom home in 1914. The renovation took 3 years, at which time the Browns brought their miracle baby into the world. Mabel Brown, Jr. cherished and preserved this home for nearly 100 years.
After she passed, the house went up for sale. When the current owners moved to Geneseo in 2013, like so many others, they fell in love with the Brown house. Upon learning that the property would be sold after Mabel Brown, Jr.’s passing, they decided to open their own inn and purchase this historic landmark to convert into a women-owned business.
The guest rooms are dedicated to people with a connection to the schoolhouse. Amelia Hannah Lyon was one of the first teachers in the original Central School. Cecil Eldridge Bryan was the architect who partnered with the Browns to save the schoolhouse in 1914. Ella Hume Taylor was the granddaughter of one of Geneseo’s founders and went on to publish accounts of early life in Geneseo. And of course Mabel Welton Brown Jr. herself, the first woman to practice law in Geneseo.
Central Schoolhouse Inn offers a unique lodging experience, featuring a glimpse into local history, luxurious guest rooms, and a catered breakfast. This beautiful historic inn, full of charm and stories, is a wonderful place to stay during your visit to Geneseo.
If you’re looking for a charming place to host a meeting or gathering, the parlor, vestibule, enjoy the front three rooms of our beloved inn. The parlor, vestibule, and dining room are available for rental. These historic halls contain the original grand staircase, two original fireplaces, original woodwork and wall scones, pocket doors, 12′ ceilings with hand-glazed plaster reliefs, two restrooms, grand chandeliers and a 1924 baby grand piano.